Clare Sambrook wins 2010 Bevins Prize

Clare Sambrook with the Bevins Prize

Clare Sambrook, founder of the End Child Detention Now campaign, has been awarded the 2010 Bevins Prize for outstanding investigative journalism. The prize is awarded in honour of Anthony Bevins, the leading political journalist who regularly researched and broke otherwise untouched stories. The award was set up in 2008 to encourage and promote Bevins’ relentless pursuit of truth.

Sambrook reported on the detention of the children of asylum seekers, who are often separated from their families and held in secure facilities under enormous physical and mental stress. The award was announced by broadcaster and journalist Andrew Marr, one of the Bevins Prize judges. Marr described the detention which Seabrook had reported on as “utterly against all our best traditions.”

In accepting the award, Sambrook commented, “While I didn’t know Tony Bevins personally I am delighted and amazed to have my name linked to his, particularly given the strong field of shortlisted entries.”

Judges for this years’ prize were:

  • Heather Brooke, Writer, journalist and activist
  • Shami Chakrabarti, Director, Liberty
  • Colin Hughes, Director, Guardian News & Media
  • Paul Lewis, Guardian journalist and last years’ winner
  • Ken Livingstone, Labour candidate for Mayor of London
  • Andrew Marr, Journalist and broadcaster

As always the judges were looking for rigorous, persistent journalism, worthy of receiving the ‘Rat up a Drainpipe’ trophy. The prize was awarded at a reception at Quintessentially Soho at the House of St Barnabas in London.

Bevins Prize Trustee and Guardian Director, Colin Hughes said “This prize represents Bevins’ philosophy: exposing hidden truths without fear of a fight. It’s important to reward and encourage good journalism and this year’s shortlist shows how crucial investigative reporting can be in bringing about justice.”

Judges also gave a new “anti Award” to the reporting they felt represented the worst of journalistic standards in the past year. The “winner” of this inaugural award was the News of the World for their involvement in the phone hacking scandal.

Clare Sambrook's reports appeared on the openDemocracy Our Kingdom site, and The New Londoners. Her full press campaign can be read at: